About the Presbytery of Utah

Presbyterians help one another seek the grace of God in all things. Through a representative governance process, we work together to draw our communities closer to God.

The Presbytery of Utah, located at 699 East South Temple, Suite 305, in Salt Lake City, Utah, is the administrative hub of 20 congregations of the Presbyterian Church (USA). It is one of the 172 presbyteries in the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) which cover the continental 48 states, Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. The congregations in the Presbytery of Utah stretch from St. George, Utah, in the southwest corner of Utah to our northern most congregation just across the Utah-Idaho border in Preston, Idaho.

The purpose of the Presbytery is expressed in its mission statement:

The Presbytery of Utah will provide leadership and resources resulting in healthy and growing congregations.

The Presbytery is served by 4 part-time staff persons: interim executive presbyter, stated clerk, treasurer, and office manager. The staff operates out of the office which is located in a building owned by a member of First Presbyterian Church of Salt Lake City.

Teaching elders, ruling elders and members of congregations serve in rotating terms on the Coordinating Council, Committee on Ministry, Committee on Preparation for Ministry, Committee on Nominations and Permanent Judicial Commission.

Contact us to find out more