Purpose and Responsibilities  

The Committee on Ministry (COM) serves as the pastor, counselor, coach and mediator to Minister of Word and Sacrament (MSW) and Commissioned Lay Pastors (CLP).  As such, the COM focus is on the relationships within presbytery’s congregations and between congregations and the presbytery. The committee’s role is to advise, counsel, and mediate as well as act on behalf of the Presbytery of Utah for the purpose of:

  1. Overseeing Installation of MSW and CLP to a particular pastoral service
  2. Approving terms of calls and contracts
  3. Examining and receiving MSW by transfer from other presbyteries for the purpose of accepting validated calls to ministry in the Presbytery of Utah. 

Moderator: Rev. Ralph Clingan -  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Members of COM  

This 12-person committee is made up of an equal number of Ruling Elders and Ministers of Word and Sacrament.  Members serve three-year terms in rotating classes, with the Moderator of the Committee on Ministry to be elected by the Presbytery each year for a one-year term. 

Class of 2024

Andrew Fleishman (MWS) 
Jon Draskovic (MWS)
Barbara White (RE) 
Jackie Solon (RE)

Class of 2025

Bre Magill (MWS) 
Ralph Clingan (MWS) 
Lynn Erickson (RE) 
Pat Holmes (RE)

Class of 2026

Scott Wipperman (MWS) 
Monica Hall (MWS) 
Melissa Kuester (RE) 
Mike Kestler (RE) 

Meeting dates and location: 

COM meets every second Thursday from 10am – 2pm. The meetings are hybrid: in-person at the Presbytery Office or via Zoom. 

COM Resources

Compensation Guidelines

© 2024 Presbytery of Utah
699 E South Temple, Ste 305
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
Job Openings